Catching the curve ball

Posted: September 2, 2014 in writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Life has been, well, challenging in the past few months as I’ve had to catch the odd curve ball. Not that I’m complaining, really I’m not. But I am human and when times get a bit tough, you tend to reflect, question and ultimately take time out. I’m not ashamed to admit that I’ve been on a less than ideal ride lately, but I’m here and yes, I’m counting my blessings.

Taking time out to reflect is not such a bad thing because it can lead to renewal. One of the more positive outcomes recently has been a rediscovery of myself. It’s been a slow and painstaking process – not over yet I guess – but I’m re-emerging better than before. I’m remembering feelings and motivations from years ago, and as I plant my herbs in my garden in time for spring, I’m remembering the beauty of this world. And that there is new life around the corner.

So what do I want to do with my life? I reckon it’s a question we should ask ourselves often, and not just when we lose a loved one, have an emotional or health crisis or lose a job. We should ask that question every time we stop living in the moment and find ourselves going through the day to day motions without much joy or passion. If we are really living honestly, then making sure we are on track with whatever our purpose might be, and aiming for what makes us happiest, is what we need to accomplish. Not just putting one step in front of the other and being emotionally cut off from ourselves and others, day after day, month after month and God forbid, year after year.

If I had to put something out to the universe right now, it would be happiness for myself, my kin and my friends. And I don’t think it takes that much to be happy. Here are some rules that I’m ‘reflecting’ on at the moment, and even trying and retrying some of them out already:

  • Live simply, count your blessings, stay in the present and not the past or future.
  • Go outside and spend some time in nature. If you really listen, you can hear the connection between all living things.
  • Get a dog. They will be your best friend in the whole world.
  • Do what you love. That could be anything from cooking creatively through to spending time with friends. Doing what you love is not just a phrase associated with a career; it’s about how you live each day.
  • Connect and reconnect with old friends…after all, they’ve known you for a long time and likely you don’t have to pretend to be anyone but yourself.
  • Find your purpose. What makes you uniquely you? If you’re in a job where you’re not satisfied, find something else. Don’t waste your time stuck in a rut because time is precious and your lifespan is precious. No-one’s being granted extra time in that department as far as I can see.
  • Don’t put things off. If you want to get into a car and drive to a beach, then find time to do it.
  • Love yourself. You know what they say, if you don’t know how to do that, it’s an invitation for others to walk over you because your boundaries will be loose.
  • Make sure you’re loving others as well. Spread it round and see what comes back to you.
  • Say no more often. You’re allowed to do that.
  • And one of my absolute favourites, enjoy…no really enjoy, the thoughts, the talents and uniqueness of others. Whether that’s watching a great film, reading a wonderful book, or listening to someone else’s sheer brilliant thoughts, appreciate them for the great human beings they are. And on a universal level, the infinite capacity of human beings to be wonderful and inspiring.

So, armed with my little list, I will go forward, onwards and upwards and no doubt still catching the odd curved ball in the future.

Ps. I have started writing again, and am working on the remainder of my horror anthology ‘Evil Imminent’, before I start on my next full length novel. Yeah! (picture me doing a high 5 now)

Comments
  1. C. Miller says:

    Good luck with your writing!
    (Picture me high-fiving you back!) 😀

Leave a Reply

