Tweet, tweet and tweet again

Posted: July 6, 2014 in writing
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I must be honest today. I had good intentions of finishing my short story for my upcoming horror anthology but instead I slept in until 10am, and then shopped, and wasted some more time in front of the fire. I did manage to wake myself up enough to cook a stupendous dinner. And thank you to my partner for the apple and djon mustard sauce to go with the pork. All in all a great day, away from worry or care, and one that sparked thoughts of clearing the desk upstairs next weekend so I can set up my keyboards.

And get back to learning how to play them.

What has all this got to do with writing, I heard myself ask. Well, it shows the lack of time I generally have with a busy day job and long hours, and a family who draws me substantially into their lives still. On top of finding time to write, is the time to market my published novels. Many authors, like me, have embraced social media as a cost effective way to market indie books. Like me they have facebook, a blog, Google+ even, Pinterest perhaps, and of course Twitter.

Many an hour is spent on Twitter, tweeting promos for books. I know I do…tweet about my books but I have been thinking lately…wondering even, about the value of using Twitter to actually sell books. I think it’s a valuable platform for branding, but concrete sales? Perhaps a little, but definitely not a lot. And yet, it astounds me that I [and many others] rely so heavily on Twitter, tweeting around the clock. Why do we do it?

I’m not really sure. As I said it might get some sales, but its value is in branding and, like anything else, you can either do it right or you can overdo it. I’m beginning to acknowledge the value in taking a step back from constant marketing on social media generally, and in going back to quality time spent doing the thing that motivated me to go into indie publishing in the first place.

Writing. A blank page calling for inspiration. Penetrating the superficial, organizing thoughts, resuscitating them even, and punching through to creativity. Multiple epiphanies.

So, back to the laptop keyboard. Easing up on the tweet, tweet, tweet again. Back to my short story and complete the anthology. Now, that’s an idea that might just work.

Comments
  1. jfinwat says:

    I can relate to this! Too much Social Media and not enough writing!

Leave a Reply

