I remember reading the Book Thief, about 5 years ago. I’ve read since I was 8 or 9 years of age, starting on those childhood adventure series and then moving through to Hemingway in my early teenage years.  From imaginative adventure to gripping realism, I’ve traversed the literature landscape like an explorer climbing Mt Everest.

I’ve gone through my Charles Dickins stage, my DH Lawrence, my Virginia Wolfe and my Aldous Huxley stage. I’ve read Freud and Jung, and ploughed through the feeling words of the poets, empathising, agreeing and being emotionally moved.

I have been through my spiritual reading stage – the power of crystals, Mayan prophesies, ley lines, runes, tarot, psychic protection, chakra cleansing, mediumship, Indigenous culture, paganism, the Celtic book of dying even. And then there was Zen and Buddhism, Christianity and Paulo Coelho. Wherever my soulful life quest went, you could find me in a bookshop or library researching and following up that thirst for knowledge.

And during all that reading and all those years, I have never been moved to tears, until the Book Thief  and then I sobbed and sobbed with that book, and couldn’t stop for ages.

You can imagine my excitement when I read Markus Zusak’s blog and discovered they were making a movie of the Book Thief. I shared that post on my Facebook page with a mixture of anticipation, and something else.

You see the Book Thief also holds mixed memories. It was lent amongst my extended family and went missing. Around the family circle the question was asked: “Who has the Book Thief?” (it should have been Who is the Book Thief?). This went on for months and if it hadn’t got so bizarre it would have been funny.

The book could simply not be found. Some members were accusatory. “I bet so and so has it…” To cut a long story short, it was found in the end and in the possession of someone no-one had thought of, and the lender had simply forgotten they had passed it on.

I suppose that demonstrates the importance of a book – that it could be so precious, such a sought after possession, that it would cause such consternation. It also shows the level on which a good book can impact. Books can take you on a very private and personal journey that you end up ‘owning’.

My reaction to the Book Thief, and the controversy it ultimately caused within my extended family, only makes me like the book even more now. The one thing I have resolved to do is finally purchase my own copy. And not loan it to anyone, ever. Or maybe I will and simply buy another copy.

And what a marvellous thing that it has been adapted into a movie. I can’t wait for it to come out.

I have my second book coming out soon Dawn of the Shadowcasters via Lodestone Books, an imprint of John Hunt Publishing. It’s for young adult readers who like fantasy and adventure. However there are strong spiritual themes that set it apart from the average fantasy read. That’s because a little of my own spiritual quest has found its way into the pages. I hope you enjoy it when it comes out, which should be in the next few months.

Comments
  1. Reblogged this on ExtraSensitivePerson and commented:

    Why we ‘own’ the books that move us.

Leave a Reply

