Burning the midnight oil

Posted: September 28, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I write for a living. That doesn’t mean I’m a full-time author – it means I’m employed as a writer, journalist, editor and consultant in my job, and I write fiction some week nights, on the weekends and fervently throughout holidays.

Balancing my love of fiction writing with my career is a tricky thing. When you’re writing all day, there’s often not the inspiration to sit down and do it at night. On the weekends, there are enough commitments with family and domestic living, without finding extra time to write novels. But I always seems to squeeze writing in and have penned a sequel to my first novel in the past 6 months – Dawn of the Shadowcasters which is currently in copy editing with John Hunt Publishing.

So how do novel writers, who work full time, manage to churn out novel after novel. I must say I’m not in that league, nor do I want to be. When I write fiction, I insist it must be inspirational for me (getting the thoughts and ideas down that matter the most to me), and it must be fun. If it becomes all about quantity and deadlines, then forget it; I get rebellious.

And then once the time is found, inspiration is the next challenge. Writing, for me anyway, is all about digging deep into the recesses of creativity and inner meaning. This is not a state of mind that can just be conjured up. It needs to be cultivated, like a fallowed paddock. The trouble with putting a fence around your writing time, is that it interferes with the spontaneity and the flow of creativity.

So what’s the answer? Well as we all know writers aren’t rich. They do what they do for the love of it, for self-expression and because creating through words is more than a want, it is a deep-seated need.

So we reconcile with ourselves that pushing through and writing the fiction by burning the midnight oil is absolutely worth it, because it is a love that self-sustains. Hats off to all the writers who pen their novels at night and on the weekends. You are making your ideal possible.

And now that self-publishing has opened the gate to publication (though not necessary sales unless the work is good and well promoted/marketed), the work we toil over at the end of the day, can be read and experienced by anyone who was meant to read our stories.

 

Leave a Reply

