The Depression Session

Posted: September 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

I’ve just eaten my way through a bag of pods and am polishing off the rest of my son’s corn chips and salsa. I am getting really cranky with him because he continues to eat the corn chips and there’ll be less left for me.

I chip him about it and say ‘well I’m only eating because I’m cranky’. He replies, ‘ah the depression session’.

‘Yep, you got it, that’s what it is.’

Well it’s not actually depression in its strictest sense, more annoyance at the pace of our busy lives. The sun is shining here, but I’ve got a million and one things to do. I’m looking at the outdoors and really wanting to get out there and soak up the sun, contemplate nature, my navel, whatever.

I read an excerpt out of a book this morning in the Sunday papers, between loads of washing and a dash to the shops. One of the major regrets people have on their deathbed is working too hard and too long in the pursuit of career, money, status, things, stuff….

Well, I’m not sure I fall into that category – I work to provide for a family and, well, my writing, I do that for the love of it. But, sometimes, there are moments in between the chaos of living that I would rather take off my shoes and spend time walking barefoot through the grass, stop and smell the sweetpea and jasmine, plant a few trees, sip a cup of tea on the verandah as the sun sets.

What is the latest ‘depression session’ telling me? It’s time for a holiday, a slower pace, and filling the bottle of life full again with meaning.

 

Leave a Reply

